Skip to main content

Choosing a Driver Education Course

Effective September 1, 2015, all drivers taking a teen driver course must complete the ITTD program – learn more

Notice: Beginning September 1, 2015, the regulation of Driver Education Schools, Driver Safety Schools, Course Providers and Instructors under Chapter 1001, Texas Education Code, will be transferred from ESC Region 13 to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). This transfer is the result of the 84th Legislature enacting House Bill 1786 into law. In addition, the bill includes the transfer to TDLR of the Parent Taught Driver Education program from the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).

Individuals under 18 years of age are required to complete a driver education course and present the Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964) at the driver license office.

When applying for a license, the driving test is required. The knowledge test will be waived if it was completed during the driver education course.

NOTE: An individual may start the classroom phase of a driver education course at 14 years of age but cannot apply for a learner license until he/she is at least 15.

There are three types of driver education for teens:

  1. A traditional driver education course offered by a driver training school
  2. Parent-taught driver education (PTDE)
  3. Driver education offered in public school

Teens

Individuals under 18 years of age are required to complete a driver education course and present the Texas Driver Education Certificate (DE-964) at the driver license office.

When applying for a license, the driving test is required. The knowledge test will be waived if it was completed during the driver education course.

NOTE: An individual may start the classroom phase of a driver education course at 14 years of age but cannot apply for a learner license until he/she is at least 15.

There are three types of driver education for teens:

  1. A traditional driver education course offered by a driver training school
  2. Parent-taught driver education (PTDE)
  3. Driver education offered in public school

Driver Education options are available at Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Driver Education and Safety.

Adults
Individuals between 18 and 24 years of age are required to complete a driver education course and present the original certificate of completion at the driver license office. A driver education course is not required for individuals who already hold a valid driver license from another U.S. state, U.S. territory, or Canadian province or from France, South Korea, Taiwan, or Germany (i.e. countries with license reciprocity agreements with Texas).

When applying for a license, the driving test is required. The knowledge test will be waived if it was completed during the driver education course.

There are two types of driver education for adults:

  1. Six-hour adult driver education course which can be taken either online or in the classroom
  2. Traditional driver education course offered through a driver training school (this course is recommended for individuals who want additional behind-the-wheel and classroom training)