Skip to main content

Change Information on Your Driver License or ID Card

To change Address, Name or Gender on a driver license or ID card, individuals must apply for a replacement (also known as a duplicate) and pay the required fee.  

Address Change

In Texas, the address on a driver license and ID card must be changed within 30 days after moving to a new residence.

There are three ways to request a replacement driver license with a new address:

  1. Online
  2. Mail-In
  3. In-Person

Online Address Change
Using the online feature is the fastest and most convenient method to use when changing an address. Learn more about the eligibility requirements to change an address online or click “Go” in the link below.


 Address Change


The fastest way to change the address on your driver license or ID card.




Mail-In Address Change
Individuals who are unable to change their address online can complete the Application for Change of Address and mail it in. NOT for Commercial Driver License. CDL applications must be done in person. Applications should be mailed to the address located at the top of the form. Remember to sign the application and include the required fee.

In-Person Address Change
Individuals who are unable to change their address online or who do not want to mail-in their application can take their completed Application for Change of Address to any driver license office. (This form is also available at any driver license office.)

NOTE: DPS encourages individuals to change their address online or mail-in their application, if possible.

Alternative Address Option for Peace Officers

Peace officers may have the address of the county courthouse in their county of residence printed on the face of their driver license or ID card as an alternative option to using their residential address.

NOTE: Using an alternative address is not available to peace officers who hold a commercial driver license (CDL).

To be eligible for the alternative address option, a peace officer must be:

  1. Commissioned in Texas; and
  2. Currently employed by a law enforcement agency.

To change the address on a driver license or ID card, peace officers must:

  1. Apply in person at any driver license office (online transactions are not allowed because applicants must verify employment);
  2. Pay the required fee;
  3. Surrender any driver license or ID card previously issued;
  4. Present their license issued by Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Education (TCLEOSE);
  5. Present their peace officer identification card and badge issued by the employing agency; and
  6. Provide their current residential address on the application (required for DPS records and mailing purposes).

Peace officers applying for an original, renewal or replacement driver license or ID card must meet all other eligibility requirements.

Name Change

Individuals who want to change their name must:

  1. Visit any driver license office within 30 days of the change; and
  2. Provide a document that verifies the name change. The document must be an original, not a copy. If the document is not in English, then a certified English translation must also be submitted with the original.

Marriage-Related Name Change
If a name change is marriage related, bring one of the following documents:

  1. Marriage license
    1. Since the state of Texas does not recognize same-sex marriage DPS cannot accept same-sex marriage licenses.
  2. Divorce decree
  3. Spouse’s death certificate

Other Types of Name Change
If a name change is not marriage related, bring one of the following documents:

  1. Certified court order
  2. Amended birth certificate

Sex Change

A transgender person must bring an original certified court order verifying the change.