Skip to main content

News and Updates

September 2015

Abusable Synthetic Substances and Emergency Scheduling
House Bill 1212 allows that the Texas Commissioner of Health may designate a commodity as an abusable synthetic substance and may emergency schedule a substance as a controlled substance, if determined to be an imminent threat to public safety. Controlled Substance Schedules are maintained by the Texas Department of State Health Services.

Opioid Antagonists
Senate Bill 1462 amends Texas Health & Safety Code, Chapter 483, that opioid antagonists may be prescribed, dispensed, distributed, possessed, and administered for a legitimate medical purpose, such as an individual at risk of an opioid-related overdose.

For additional information, please see Health & Safety Codes or Texas Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, Chapter 431.

August 2015

Senate Bill 195 (84th Legislative Session), eliminates the requirement for a practitioner to have a Controlled Substances Registration with the state of Texas, effective Sept. 1, 2016. In order to implement this change, all active/current Controlled Substances Registrations (CSR) will automatically be renewed on Aug. 20, 2015, and will expire on Aug. 31, 2016. New certificates will not be mailed with automatic renewals. CSR’s may be verified by visiting the CSR Search & Verification System.

The above change will not apply to registrations that expired on or before July 31, 2015. To renew an expired CSR, practitioners must submit a renewal application and pay the $25 renewal fee and $50 late fee.

New/original registrations will continue to be accepted and processed. New registrations issued after Aug. 20, 2015 will expire Aug. 31, 2016. The completed application and $25 processing fee must be mailed to the address provided on the webpage. Fees will not be prorated.

Instructions for submitting new or renewal applications can be found at CSR Licensing & Registration.

Please continue to visit this webpage for updates and additional information. If you need assistance, please visit Contact Us, select Controlled Substances Registration and complete the online form.

September 2014

Hydrocodone Combination Products (HCPs) will be moving from a Schedule III controlled substance to the more-restrictive Schedule II, effective Oct. 6, 2014. The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration’s (DEA) rescheduling of HCPs as Schedule II will increase restrictions on prescribing and dispensing practices for HCPs.

In preparation for the DEA rescheduling of HCPs, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has increased staffing and resources to respond to medical practitioners needing assistance so they can better serve Texans who require prescriptions for HCPs.

Medical and mid-level practitioners will need to have correct schedule designations on their registrations with DPS. Practitioners need to use NAR-116 and Mid-Level Practitioners need to use NAR-117 to submit updates.

For more information, please see Hydrocodone: Schedule II Controlled Substance, DPS’ Press Release and DEA Announcement.

August 2014

According to Senate Bill 406, practitioners may now delegate the prescribing / ordering of Schedule II Controlled Substances in a hospital facility-based practice consistent with hospital policy, if the patient has been admitted to the hospital for 24 hours or longer, or if the patient is receiving services in the emergency department. Practitioners may also delegate the prescribing authority of Schedule II Controlled Substances as a part of a plan of care for a terminal patient receiving hospice treatment from a qualified hospice provider. For additional information, please visit Texas Medical Board Prescriptive Delegation.