The Application for Registration/Renewal and Certificate of Exemption From Fee forms (if applicable) must be submitted together by mail. Please note that the Application for Registration form may be submitted for both new applications and renewals. If submitting a renewal, please mark the form appropriately as a renewal and include the current CSR number. A $25 registration fee will be required for the initial issuance of the registration and for each subsequent renewal. Payment can be made with either money order or check made payable to TX DPS. If the renewal is received after the expiration date, an additional $50 late fee will be due at the time of application. Renewals will be accepted no more than 90 days prior to expiration. If a renewal is received too early it will be returned.
Notice to practitioners licensed by the Texas Medical Board (TMB) under Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 156:
To continue implementing requirements of House Bill 1803, DPS is synchronizing Controlled Substances Registration (CSR) expiration dates with TMB license expiration dates. To ensure practitioners do not experience a disruption in their controlled substances authority, the following has occurred:
MD/DO whose CSR expires in January and February 2015:
CSR to expire Jan. 31, 2015:
CSR to expire beginning Feb. 28, 2015:
MDs and DOs (only) may now complete their Controlled Substances Registration (CSR) at the same time as their biennial license registration through the Texas Medical Board (TMB) online registration system.
The processing fee to renew a CSR is $50. The CSR expiration date will match the TMB expiration date, making the CSR valid for two years. If the renewal is submitted after the CSR expiration date, the $50 late fee still applies.
A physician may still choose to renew their Controlled Substances Registration directly with DPS. Please continue to visit this webpage and the TMB website for updates and additional information about future renewal process and synchronization of registrations dates.
Prior to registration or renewal your supervising/delegating physician must be listed with the Texas Medical Board as giving you prescriptive authority for controlled substances. The information must reflect an approval date and “yes” must be indicated for controlled substances as well as delegating prescriptive authority.
EMS may use the Application for Registration/Renewal for Practitioners with additional information. Signature of the EMS administrator, as listed with Texas DSHS, may sign in the space for “Signature of Applicant.” The Medical Director’s signature, CSR number and Board license number are required. This can be added at the bottom of the form.
The Modification of Registration - EMS form may be used to include the current information for the DSHS listed Administrator and Medical Director as recorded on the DSHS website.
Pharmacies will use the same application as practitioners. The fields for name, DOB and SSN may be left blank. Indicate the name of the Pharmacy in the address information area.
The Modification of Registration and Report of Theft, Loss or Surrender of Controlled Substances forms listed below must be signed by the registrant. The completed form may be scanned and emailed via send a secured email or faxed to (512) 424-5799.
Multi-County Drug Task Force Application (NAR-122)
This form is for use by law enforcement agencies seeking to create a new multi-county drug task force.