Prescription Pad Ordering Questions
The order form is available to download in the Texas Prescription Program Forms section. The form must be downloaded, completed and mailed along with check or money order to:
Texas Prescription Program
P. O. Box 15888
Austin, TX 78761-5888
Prescription pads are $9 per pad with 100 prescription forms in each pad.
Yes, you must have a current DPS Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) with the option to prescribe Schedule II drugs and a DEA Registration Number to purchase Schedule II Prescription Pads.
At this time, we do not have an online order option. The form must be downloaded from the website and mailed in, along with check or money order.
If your DPS CSR includes the option to prescribe Schedule II drugs AND you have a Physician’s Delegating Agreement as authorized by Senate Bill 406 and the Texas Medical Board, you can order prescription pads. Download the Mid-Level’s Prescription Pad Order form for the Texas Prescription Program Forms section. The form must be completed and mailed in along with check or money order for processing.
You should receive ordered shipment via USPS no later than 30 days.
There is no limit on the quantity you can order.
The Physician-in-Training must contact their Permit Office, Staff Coordinator or department in charge of approving its Physicians-in-Training prescribing authority. The Medical Training Institution will provide to The Texas Prescription Program a letter or list on company letterhead or an electronic document from authorized department official of the Medical Training institution the names of authorized Physicians-in-Training. With each authorized name, the facility shall also provide, Board License # (PIT) and unique suffix # (4-digit) assigned to each Physician –in-Training. Each authorizing facility must indicate its DPS Registration Number and Board License #. This list of authorized Physicians-in-Training must be maintained with current information with the Texas Prescription Program. The Medical Board, on a monthly basis provides the Texas Prescription Program an electronic file exchange with all current Physician-in-Training Permit holders. The Texas Prescription Program administrator will verify all Prescription Pad Orders with the information provided by the Texas Medical Board. Please see Texas Administrative Code, Title 37, Rule 13.71 for related information.
Prescription Form Questions
Yes, the prescription forms ordered by a mid-level practitioner must include the physician’s name and the DPS Registration Number.
The forms are printed based on your Controlled Substances Registration. The address you provide is printed on your prescriptions.
No. As long as the pre-printed DPS and DEA numbers are correct and current, the prescriptions can be used anywhere. This applies not only to multiple locations, but also when offices have moved, causing a change in address.
The triplicate prescription form is still a valid official prescription for Schedule II controlled substances. However, if the pre-printed DPS Registration Number is no longer valid, then the unused and voided forms should be returned to DPS – Texas Prescription Program. Unused copies (pink) can be destroyed.
No. The forms are not transferable.
A pharmacist may dispense a Schedule II controlled substance pursuant to a facsimile copy of an official prescription completed in the manner required by Texas Health and Safety Code §481.074(0) and transmitted by the practitioner or the practitioner's agent to the pharmacy if:
An official prescription, written for a Schedule II controlled substance, must be filled within 21 days after the date the prescription was issued. If the practitioner issued multiple official prescriptions to a patient, in compliance with Texas Health and Safety Code §481.074(d)(1), then the prescription must be filled within 21 days after the earliest fill date indicated.
Yes, Texas law requires a registrant to report any theft or loss of an Official Prescription form. The details of the theft or loss must be provided to the Texas Prescription Program.
Yes, Both Texas and Federal law require a registrant to report any theft or loss of a controlled substance. The report can be made on Theft/Loss Form or on the DEA website. If the report is created on the DEA website, a copy must be sent to the Texas Prescription Program.
Under some circumstances, a pharmacy may obtain a waiver from electronic reporting of controlled substance prescription information. When a waiver is granted, the pharmacy is not exempted from complying with the law, but is required to report by an alternate method, approved by DPS.
Waivers must be requested from the Texas Prescription Program annually and in writing. The following circumstances have been identified as qualifications for waivers:
If pharmacists identify other issues, they may request a waiver by fully explaining the circumstances.
Both Texas and Federal law allow controlled substance medications to be prescribed electronically provided the Federal requirements have been met. For additional information on the federal law and electronic requirements, see DEA Diversion.