Answer: To obtain a new or renewal application select
Narcotics Forms. Complete all areas of your application to avoid any delays. The following are some helpful tips:
If you have questions, please send a secure email or call (512) 424-7293. You will need to provide your name, including degree (i.e. MD, DO, DDS) or business activity, mailing address and telephone number.
Answer: A letter or modification form must be submitted and have the registrant’s signature. You may obtain a modification form on this website under "Forms."
Answer: A Letter of Modification Form must be submitted and have the registrant’s and supervising physician’s signature. You may obtain a modification form on this website under “Forms.” If you are a supervising physician and terminating the relationship with a Mid-Level Practitioner, submit the notification in writing.
Answer: Please allow six (6) weeks for processing.
Answer: For application status, or find your registrant record at www.txdps.state.tx.us/csr/index.aspx
Answer: You may obtain a new/renewal application under “Forms.” If you are a Mid-Level Practitoner, you must use the application for that business type. A duplicate certificate can be requested by telephone or by e-mail.
Department of Public Safety Controlled Substances
5805 N. Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752
Using an overnight delivery service for the application will only save on mail time. Overnight mail will be worked through the normal process.
The postal address is:
Department of Public Safety
Controlled Substances Registration Section
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0438
Answer: Renewal applications are mailed out 90 days prior to the expiration date, to the last address we have on file.
Answer: In accordance with the Texas Health and Safety Code, 481.064 Registration Fees, “The director may change a non-refundable fee of not more than $25.”
DEA - Dallas - 888-336-4704
DEA - Houston - 800-743-0595
A processing fee of $25 is charged for each new or renewal application. Each renewal received after the expiration date will be charged a $50 late fee. The registration will not be renewed until the late fee is collected.
Federal law allows controlled substance medications to be prescribed electronically. However, the Texas Health and Safety Code requires all Schedule II controlled substances be issued on the Official Prescription Form until DPS has finalized any additional Administrative Rules or state requirements. For Texas registrants, only Schedules III through V controlled substances can be prescribed electronically. For additional information on the Federal law and electronic requirements, please visit the DEA’s Office of Diversion Control.