Answer: All (single or triplicate copies) prescription forms are currently $9.00 per 100 forms.
Answer: The forms are printed based upon your controlled substances registration. That registration contains the address you provided and is printed on your prescriptions.
Answer: Single prescriptions are sent via USPS with a signature required.
It is important that someone be available to receive the prescriptions when they are delivered.
Answer: The order forms all say to allow 30 days for delivery; however, our turn-a-round time is usually much less.
Answer: No. As long as the pre-printed DPS and DEA numbers are correct and current, the prescriptions can be used anywhere. This applies not only to multiple locations, but also when offices have moved, causing a change in address.
Answer: The triplicate prescription form is still a valid official prescription for Schedule II controlled substances. However, if the preprinted DPS registration number is no longer valid, then the unused and voided forms should be returned to the Department of Public Safety, Texas Prescription Program. Used copies (pink) can be destroyed.
Answer: No. The forms are not transferable.
Answer: A pharmacist may dispense a Schedule II controlled substance pursuant to a facsimile copy of an official prescription completed in the manner required by Section 481.074(0) and transmitted by the practitioner or the practitioner's agent to the pharmacy if:
Answer: An official prescription, written for a Schedule II controlled substance, must be filled within 21 days after the date the prescription was issued. If the practitioner issued multiple official prescriptions to a patient, in compliance with Section 481.074(d-1) of the Texas Health and Safety Code, then the prescription must be filled within 21 days after the earliest fill date indicated.
Answer: Yes, the Texas Health and Safety Code does not preclude a practitioner from using the Official Prescription form for any Schedule of controlled substance. The Official Prescription form is required on all Schedule II controlled substance prescriptions.
Answer: Federal law allows controlled substance medications to be prescribed electronically. However, the Texas Health and Safety Code requires all Schedule II controlled substances be issued on the Official Prescription Form until DPS has finalized any additional Administrative Rules or state requirements. For Texas registrants, only Schedules III through V controlled substances can be prescribed electronically. For additional information on the Federal law and electronic requirements, please visit the DEA’s Office of Diversion Control.