Updates and Notices
- Carisoprodol classified as Schedule IV (PDF) - Senate Bill 904 classifies Carisoprodol Soma) as a Schedule IV controlled substance. Prescriptions for carisoprodol must be completed in accordance with Texas Health and Safety Code 481.074(k). Pharmacies are required to electronically transmit the prescription information to the Texas Prescription Program.
- Issuance of multiple Official Prescription forms (PDF) - Senate Bill 904 allows practitioners the option to issue multiple Schedule II controlled substance prescriptions, on an Official Prescription form, to a patient at one time; the total quantity may not to exceed a ninety (90) day supply.
- New Official Prescription form - On September 1, 2010, the layout of the Official Prescription form was modified to include barcodes for the DPS Controlled Substance Registration number and Control Number.
- Controlled Substance Prescription data collection vendor – Effective September 1, 2011, Optimum Technology is now the vendor approved by the Department of Public Safety to collect pharmacy transmissions of prescription data. Please contact Optimum Technology for assistance in connecting to their system at 1-866-683-2476 or via email to “firstname.lastname@example.org”.
- Requirement to provide DEA registration number within 45 days – Effective September 1, 2011, Senate bills 594 and 1273 require a registrant to provide their DEA registration number to the Department of Public Safety within 45 days following the issuance of their DPS registration number.
- Guidelines for e-prescribing Schedule II controlled substances – Effective September 1, 2011, Senate bill 594 states that an Official Prescription form is not required when a practitioner e-prescribes a Schedule II controlled substance in accordance with Federal law.
- DPS registration number on controlled substance prescriptions – Effective September 1, 2011, Senate bills 594 and 1273 state that the DPS registration is no longer required to be written on a controlled substance prescription nor required to be transmitted by the pharmacy to the Department’s Texas Prescription Program. Note: a registrant must still obtain a DPS registration number and it must be current and valid in order to prescribe controlled substances.
- Controlled substance prescription information to DPS within 7 days – Effective September 1, 2011, Senate bills 594 and 1273 state a pharmacy must transmit to the Department’s Texas Prescription Program controlled substance prescription information within 7 days after the prescription is completely filled.