the News Media
Public Information Office
August 19, 2003
The Driver Responsibility law (in House bill 3588) establishes a
system that assigns points to moving violations classified as Class
C misdemeanors and applies surcharges to offenders, based on the
type of offense and the time period in which the citation was received.
For each conviction, DPS will assign points to a person's license
- Two points
for a moving violation conviction in Texas or that of another
- Points will
not be assigned for speeding less than 10% over the posted limit
or seat belt convictions.
- Three points
for a moving violation conviction in Texas or another state that
resulted in a vehicle crash.
remain on the driver record for a period of three years. Additionally,
a conviction that becomes final before September 1, 2003, will not
apply to the assessment of points under the program. This program
does not replace other administrative suspension, revocations or
cancellation actions that result from these same convictions.
will assess a surcharge when the driver accumulates a total of six
points or more on their record during a three-year period. The driver
must pay a $100 surcharge for the first six points and $25 for each
surcharges for certain convictions
who receive a conviction for DWI or a DWI-related offense, failure
to maintain financial responsibility or driving while license invalid
will pay an annual surcharge for a period of three years. No points
are placed on driver records for these offenses because the fine
is automatic on the first offense.
first-time DWI results in a $1,000 surcharge, paid annually for
three years. A second-time DWI results in a $1,500 surcharge, paid
annually for three years. The charges are cumulative. For example
a driver could pay $1,000 as a result of their first DWI and an
additional $1,500 for their second DWI, paying a total of $2,500
conviction for driving while license is invalid or failure to maintain
financial responsibility results in a surcharge of $250, paid annually
for three years. A driver who is convicted of driving without a
valid license receives a $100 per year surcharge for three years.
surcharge assessed for this program is in addition to other reinstatement
fees required for other administrative actions.
notification of surcharge and license revocation
will notify the offending driver of the assessment of a surcharge
on their license, via first-class mail. The notice will state the
surcharge must be paid. Drivers who do not pay their surcharge within
30 days after the notice is sent will have their driving privileges
revoked. The license will remain revoked until the person pays all
surcharges and related costs, such as service/collection fees.
receives money from the surcharges
surcharge collected by the department under this law will be remitted
to the Comptroller, on a monthly basis. Trauma centers and county
and regional emergency medical services will receive 49.5 percent
of the collected money, and the Texas Mobility fund will receive
49.5 percent of the collected money. The money that goes to trauma
centers will be handled by the Texas Department of Health, while
the Texas Department of Transportation will handle money going to
the Mobility fund, which funds highway projects, including the TransTexas
Corridor. The remaining one percent of the collected money will
go to DPS for operation of the Driver Responsibility program.
Driver Responsibility Program was passed into law as part of House
bill 3588, article 10. (The text of the law is located at http://www.capitol.state.tx.us,
page 152 of the Adobe text version.)