and Certification Program
ATV Safety Course Enrollment
All-Terrain Vehicle Summary:
Before riding an ATV on public property you are required to:
- Obtain an OHV Decal from Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (512-389-8917) and place it on your ATV; and
- Complete the fun and informative ATV safety course (Contact the All-Terrain Vehicle Safety Institute at 1-800-887-2887).
Promote ATV Safety:
- Learn the Texas ATV laws
- Complete the required ATV training course
- Wear safety gear
- Pay attention to where you are riding
What is an ATV?
An "All-terrain vehicle" is:
- Equipped with a saddle for the use of the rider, and a passenger if the vehicle is designed by the manufacturer to carry a passenger
- Propelled with three or more tires in contact with the ground
- Designed for off-highway use, and
- Not designed primarily for farming or lawn care
ATV operators younger than 14 years of age MUST be under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian.
- 6 years and older
- 12 years and older
- 16 years and older
ATV Engine Size
- Under 70cc
- 70 - 90cc
- Over 90cc
If you ride on public property your ATV must be equipped with:
- An Effective brake system;
- A muffler system in good working condition;
- A United States Forest Service qualified spark arrester; and
- An effective headlight and taillight to be displayed one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise,and at anytime when visibility is reduced.
Crossing the Roadway:
Riding your ATV across a public street, road, or highway that is not an interstate or limited-access highway is permitted if you:
- Stop the ATV completely;
- Yield the right-of-way;
- Cross with headlight and taillight on, and
- Go quickly and safely at a 90-degree angle to the roadway.
Safety Apparel Required:
- A helmet, properly fastened, and eye protection are required year round.
- Whether pleasure riding, hunting, camping, playing in the sand dunes or riding in the forest, you must wear safety gear while riding on public land.
- Penalties can be severe and result in fines up to $4,000 and jail time up to one year.
- Trespassing can include entering a posted area; and area noting crop for harvest; a fenced area; or remaining after being asked to leave.
- Pay attention to where you are riding.
Know before you go:
- Are your plans complete? Before you gather your gear, ask if ATVs are allowed in the area you plan to ride.
- Always stop and check the entrance to lands where you want to ride.
- Look for chains, rope or wire that may span the entryway.
- Stop and look. These barriers can be difficult to see. Stop and look again.
- An offense of the ATV laws is a Class C misdemeanor.
No ATVs Allowed:
- Public Highways
- Bar Ditches
- Shoulders of Road
- Grassy Area Along the Roadway