Motorcycle Helmet Exemptions
On June 19, 2009, Governor Rick Perry signed into law
Senate Bill 1967 of the 81st Regular Legislative Session.
This law became effective September 1, 2009 and
repealed the helmet exemption sticker program.
Please read the following important information pertaining
to the helmet exemption:
- Former law required a person be covered with a minimum of $10,000 in health insurance for injuries incurred in a motorcycle accident to be eligible for an exception for the offense of operating or riding a motorcycle without a helmet. The law removes that minimum amount. The law requires the Texas Department of Insurance to prescribe a standard proof of health insurance for issuance to persons who are at least 21 years of age and covered by an applicable health insurance plan. "Health insurance plan" means an individual, group, blanket, or franchise insurance policy, insurance agreement, evidence of coverage, group hospital services contract, health maintenance organization membership, or employee benefit plan that provides benefits for health care services or for medical or surgical expenses incurred as a result of an accident. Read Texas Administrative Code §21.5201 (c)(1)(2) for details on requirements for health insurance plan providers; basically they must either add the words “MOTORCYCLE HEALTH” to the insurance card or supply a letter with the same basic information as the card to include the words “MOTORCYCLE HEALTH: Standard Proof of Health Insurance”.
- The law prohibits a peace officer from stopping or detaining a person who is the operator of or a passenger on a motorcycle for the sole purpose of determining whether the person has successfully completed a motorcycle operator training and safety course or is covered by a motorcycle health insurance plan and repeals provisions relating to a DPS-issued sticker required to be displayed on a motorcycle by a motorcycle owner.
For more information on this law, please visit Texas Legislature Online or contact the Texas Department of Insurance at 800-252-3439.
Motorcycle Safety Course
The Basic and Advanced Motorcycle Operator Training Courses meet the helmet exemption requirement. The Advanced Motorcycle Operator
Training Course is recommended for experienced licensed motorcyclists.