Advanced Training Courses

The Texas Department of Public Safety Law Enforcement Polygraph School is pleased to introduce an expanded Advanced Polygraph Training (APT) course selection through the offering of APT courses in each quarter of 2016.  The first and third quarter APT courses will be identical 40-hour courses with a focus on practical application of polygraph principles regarding the following topics: validated principles, persuasive interviewing, directed lie comparisons in screening and diagnostic testing, and countermeasures.  This course will be instructed by Texas Department of Public Safety polygraph program managers.  Multiple-choice quizzes will be administered at the completion of each module and a minimum combined average of 70% must be achieved in order to receive a certificate of completion.  A tuition fee of $100.00 will be charge for this course.

The second and fourth quarter APT courses will be identical 24-hour courses with a focus on an in-depth review of psychophysiology, scientific terminology, memory, and false confessions.  This course will be instructed by Mark Handler with assistance from the Texas Department of Public Safety polygraph program managers.  Students enrolling in this course should expect 16 hours of detailed lectures regarding the interworking of psychology and physiology as it relates to the cardiovascular system, respiratory system, and integumentary system.  Two hours of lecture will be dedicated to the application of scientific terminology in the Empirical Scoring System and the remaining six hours of lecture will be dedicated to understanding memory and false confessions.  Multiple-choice quizzes will be administered at the completion of each module and a minimum of 70% must be achieved in order to receive a certificate of completion.  A tuition fee of $200 will be charged for this course.

APT courses will be conducted at the Texas Department of Public Safety headquarters campus and will include meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) on Monday through Friday noon.  Lodging expenses and arrangements will be the responsibility of the student.

Interested students must complete the application form for the 40-hour course or 24-hour course and submit it via email to Felicia Ruiz to be considered for the class.  Your name will only be placed on the waiting list if you complete and submit the application.  Refer to the specific course dates for application forms, submission deadlines, and tuition information.

Thank you for your interest in our program and we look forward to assisting in your professional development.

Advanced Polygraph Training Course Schedule (February 22-26, 2016) – 40 hours (PDF)
Advanced Polygraph Training Course Schedule (May 10-12, 2016) – 24 Hours (PDF)
Advanced Polygraph Training Course Schedule (August 8-12, 2016) – 40 hours (PDF)
Advanced Polygraph Training Course Schedule (November 8-10, 2016) – 24 Hours  (PDF)

Advanced Polygraph Training Registration Form (PDF)