Metals Registration

DPS registers and oversees all MREs in Texas. Registered entities are required to collect certain identifying information from sellers of recycled material to help law enforcement monitor those who are buying and / or selling stolen materials.

An email will be sent to each MRE approximately 45 days before certificate expiration. Please check your Junk or Spam Email folder, if you have not seen this email in your inbox. Please direct your Metals Recycling questions to Contact Us, select Metals and complete the form.  

Metals Registration Online is an online tool to assist law enforcement with metals thefts in Texas. These tools are available 24-hours a day, seven-days a week, to all law enforcement personnel in municipalities, counties and state agencies. For more information on how to get started, please see Metals Registration Online Fact Sheet (pdf) or visit Law Enforcement Links.

SAFETY ALERT: All MREs need to know the dangers of receiving materials containing explosives at their facility. Please see Unexploded Ordnance (UXO) Safety and the latest RSD Safety Alert.

Top Program Links