All applicants must meet the basic requirements outlined below for entrance into training for the position of Trooper in the Texas Highway Patrol.
With few exceptions, you have the right to request and be informed about information that the State of Texas collects about you. You are entitled to receive and review the information upon request. You also have the right to ask the state agency to correct any information that is determined to be incorrect. (Reference: Texas Government Code, Sections 522.021, 552.023 and 559.004).
Physical: Before employment, each applicant will be examined by a physician. Click here for Physical Fitness Requirements
Vision: Distant visual acuity of any degree that does not correct with spectacle lenses to an least one of the following:
20/40 in one eye and 20/70 in the other eye
20/30 in one eye and 20/400 in the other eye
20/20 in one eye and 20/400 in the other eye
Current near visual acuity of any degree that does not correct to 20/40 in the better eye
Current refractive error (hyperopia, myopia, astigmatism in excess of -8.00 or +8.00 diopters spherical equivalent or astigmatism in excess of 3.00 diopters.
Age: Applicants must be at least 20 years of age to apply and must be 21 years of age upon graduating from the Department’s Trooper Trainee Academy. There is no maximum age limit to apply to become a Texas State Trooper.
Education: Applicants must have a minimum of 60 college earned hours from a regional accredited college or university. Prior law enforcement or military experience at the following ratios may substitute for required semester hours :
|Semester Hours||Law Enforcement/Military|
Applicants substituting law enforcement or military experience for the college hours must, at a minimum, have obtained a GED or have graduated from high school.