Skip to main content

Ordering Driver Records

An individual can order a driver record online or by mail. Driver records are not available in driver license offices.

Order Your Driver Record Online


 Driver Records


Order your driver record online and print it instantly




Companies that want to order driver records may email License and Record Service for information.

Order a Driver Record by Mail

To order a type 1, 2, 2A, 3 or 3A driver record by mail, follow the instructions on the driver record request form (PDF).

To order a certified abstract of driving record (type AR) follow the instructions on the certified abstract request form (PDF).

If the driver record has not been received three weeks after the date it was ordered, contact Customer Service.

Driver Record Types

A complete driver record includes nonserious violations for a 15-year period; after 15 years, the violation is removed. Serious violations, such as DWI or No Liability Insurance, are never removed from a driver record. Out-of-state convictions also will appear on a Texas driver record. All crashes investigated by a law enforcement officer become part of the driver record. For questions about a crash, contact the Texas Department of Transportation.


Driver Record Type Table

Driver Record Type

Information

Type 1
Status record

  • Date of birth, license status, home address and original Texas driver license application date.

Type 2
3-year history

  • Type 1 information, plus
  • List of crashes (if a ticket was received), and all moving and nonmoving violations for a three-year period.

Type 2A
Certified 3-year history

  • Certified version of type 2.
  • This record type cannot be used for a defensive driving course (DDC).

Type 3
List of all crashes and violations

  • Type 1 information, plus
  • List of all crashes (even if no ticket was received), and all moving and nonmoving violations in the record.
  • Type 3 is provided only to the person the record belongs to.
  • This record type cannot be used for a defensive driving course (DDC).

Type 3A
Certified list of all crashes and violations

  • Certified version of type 3.
  • Type 3A is provided only to the person the record belongs to.
  • This is the only record type that can be used for a defensive driving course (DDC).

Type AR
Certified abstract of complete driver record

  • Type 3 information, plus
  • All suspensions in the record.
  • Type AR contains all information in a driver record.