Texas Registered Vehicle currently in another state:

   If your Texas registered vehicle is out of state when the inspection certificate expires
  1. Ensure that your Texas Vehicle Registration is current
  2. Follow the laws of the state you are in.
   If the state has a vehicle inspection program
  • Generally, states honor the laws of other states, and there are even reciprocal agreements, where this state honors other states laws as their own. For example, if a vehicle is registered in Texas and is in another state that requires vehicles to be inspected, then that other state will honor your inspection certificate.
  • You may obtain an inspection certificate by presenting your vehicle for inspection at a local inspection station.
    Remember: Depending on the state you are in, your vehicle may have to be registered in that state to get inspected.
  • Upon returning to Texas, have your vehicle inspected within 3 days, unless you have an inspection certificate from one of the states with which we have reciprocity.
   If the state has a combined registration and inspection program
  • If the state does not have an inspection program, BUT performs inspections as part of the annual registration renewal process, then you should contact the local DMV to see what action you should take. In many cases, you may be considered legal to drive if you have a valid Texas registration tag. However, in other states, they may require that you take their version of an inspection in order to be legal. In any case, contact the local DMV to see which route to take. Be sure to inform the DMV that you have a valid Texas registration tag and that Texas does not require that you have a current Texas inspection certificate unless you are driving within the Texas state limits. At this time they should exempt your vehicle from inspection, instruct you to take their inspection, or allow you to drive with a Texas registration tag.
  • Upon returning to Texas, have your vehicle inspected within 3 days.
   If the state has no inspection program
  • Upon returning to Texas, have your vehicle inspected within 3 days.
   Acceptance of Out-of-State Vehicle Inspection Certificates on Texas-registered vehicles:

A valid certificate of inspection issued in the District of Columbia or in another state of the United States having an inspection law similar to that of the State of Texas is acceptable on a Texas-registered vehicle provided the inspection certificate was obtained while the owner or operator of the vehicle was residing in the other jurisdiction and the vehicle was regularly assigned, garaged, or stationed outside of the State of Texas. This acceptance does not extend to owners and operators who have resided continuously in Texas.

Exception: New vehicles which are purchased in a state having an inspection law similar to that of the State of Texas which were inspected and issued an inspection certificate before registration are acceptable in Texas until the expiration date of the certificate.

   Iím returning to Texas. How much time do I have to get my car inspected once I cross over the state line?

The Department of Public Safety extends the time within which a certificate of inspection shall be obtained by a resident owner or operator of a Texas-registered vehicle, when the vehicle has no valid inspection certificate. The extension will be granted only on the first occasion of operation in this state during an inspection year and only until the resident owner or operator of the vehicle has arrived at his home, station, or destination in this state and for three days thereafter.

   I have a valid inspection certificate from another state. Do I need to have my vehicle re-inspected once I cross over state lines?

Texas-registered vehicles may operate in Texas on a valid inspection certificate from the District of Columbia or any of the following states provided the certificate was obtained while the owner of the vehicle resided in the other jurisdiction: Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia.