Proof of Residency
in Texas

When applying for your first Texas driver license (DL)
or identification card, you must provide documents

to prove you have lived in Texas for at least 30 days.

If you are surrendering a valid, unexpired driver
license from another state, you must still prove your
Texas residency, but the 30-day requirement is waived.
Simply provide two of the following documents that
contain the same name and Texas residential/physical
address.

e Current deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement
mortgage payment booklet, or a residential lease

e Current homeowners’ or renters’ insurance policy or
statement

e Electric, water, natural gas, satellite television, cable
television, or non-cellular telephone statement dated
within 90 days of the application date

Medical or health card

Valid, unexpired registration: Texas voter registration
card, motor vehicle registration or title, boat
registration or title

Current automobile insurance policy or statement
Current automobile payment booklet

Texas high school, college, or university report card or
transcript for the current school year

® Preprinted paycheck or pay stub dated within 90 days
of the application date

W-2 or 1099 tax form from the current year

Mail from a financial institution; including checking,
savings, investment account, or credit card statements
dated within 90 days of the application date

e Mail from a federal, state, county, or city government
agency dated within 90 days of the application date

e Current documents issued by the US Military
indicating residential address

Selective Service card
Concealed handgun license
TDCJ document indicating recent release or parole

Current Form DS-2019, 1-20, or a document issued by
USCIS

Both documents cannot be from the
same source.

For example, you cannot show a water bill and a gas bill
from the same utility company, and you cannot show

mail that is addressed to you with a forwarding address label
or an adhesive address label on the envelope. If you are
unable to provide two documents from the list, you may
submit a Texas residency affidavit from someone who resides
at the same address along with proper identification and two
documents for proof of residency.

For affidavit requirements, visit us at www.dps.texas.gov/
DriverLicense/ResidencyReqNonCDL.htm or ask a driver
license office employee.

Proof of Social Security
Number

If you are applying for a driver license or ID card, you
must provide your Social Security Number (SSN).*

Examples of documents to verify your
SSN include:

Social Security card (actual card)
W-2 or 1099 tax form
Pay stub with preprinted name and SSN

Military ID with preprinted SSN (active and reserve
personnel only)

Dependent military ID with preprinted SSN

Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty
(DD-214) from the US Department of Defense

Veterans Administration card with preprinted SSN
Peace officer’s license, Texas Commission on Law
Enforcement (TCOLE)

Pilot’s license with preprinted SSN

Health card, Medicare or Medicaid card with SSN
Certified college/university transcript with SSN

* According to state and federal law, DPS collects and uses SSN
information for identification purposes. This information is
released to government agencies only for purposes authorized
by the Texas Transportation Code.

Proof of Vehicle Insurance

All original applicants must provide evidence of financial
responsibility for each vehicle owned by you or a statement
affirming that you do not own a motor vebhicle.

For more information, go online to:
www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense or visit us at a driver
license office near you.

Moving to Texas

An individual can legally drive with a valid, unexpired driver
license from another state or country for up to 90 days after
moving to Texas. However, you must apply in person within
those 90 days to continue driving legally, and you will be
required by law to surrender your unexpired driver license
issued by another state or Canadian province to DPS.

When transferring an Out-of-State driver license to Texas,
you must provide proof of vehicle registration ONLY if the
vehicle is registered under your name and is in the state of
Texas. Evidence of financial responsibility for each vehicle
owned by you or a statement affirming that you do not own
a motor vehicle is also required.

ID cards issued from another US state, US territory or foreign
country are valid in Texas until they expire.

Individuals who are applying for a Texas driver license or ID
card must meet all licensing and/or identification
requirements. For more information, go online to:
www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense or visit us at a driver
license office near you.
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The mission of the Texas Department of Public Safety
(DPS) is to protect and serve Texas. Driver licenses
and identification cards issued by DPS Driver License
Division (DLD) are a key link to public safety, privacy,
and national security.

For the safety, security, and peace of mind of Texas
residents, DPS must produce a recognizably reliable
source of identification and also reduce exposure to
identity theft and fraud. A driver license or
identification card is often used by financial
institutions, retailers, law enforcement, and other
organizations to establish the cardholder’s identity.

As a result, DPS has established several application
requirements meant to address issues of fraud and to
protect the integrity of a driver license or
identification card issued by DPS. These involve
verifying your identity and residency and US
citizenship or lawful presence (the legal authorization
to reside in this country).

If you are applying for a Commercial Driver License
(CDL) or if you are under age 25, you must satisfy
different requirements when applying for a Texas driver
license or identification card. For more information,
go online to www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense or visit
us at a driver license office near you.

Proof of US Citizenship or
Lawful Presence

If you are a US citizen, lawful permanent resident
(immigrant), refugee, asylee, or non-immigrant, you
must provide proof of your lawful presence in the
United States. Most documents will be verified
through the US Department of Homeland Security’s
SAVE Program. Verification through SAVE is often
instantaneous, but when it is not, receipt of the DL/
ID may be delayed for up to 30 days.

Examples of documents to verify
lawful presence include:

e Birth certificate or birth record issued by the
appropriate State Bureau of Vital Statistics or
equivalent agency from a US state or local
government, a US territory, or the District of Columbia

US passport book or passport card

US Citizenship Certificate or Certificate of Naturalization
(N-550, N-560, N-561, N-570, or N-578)

US citizen Identification card (1-179 or 1-197)

US Department of State Certificate of Birth Abroad issued
to US citizens born abroad (Form FS-240, DS-1350, or
FS-545)

Permanent Resident card (I-551)

Passport or I-94 stamped “Approved I-551” or “Processed
for I-551”

Employment Authorization card (I-766)
US travel document (1-327 or I-571)
1-94 stamped “Sec. 208 Asylee” or “Sec. 207 Refugee”

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa with temporary I-551
language and ADIT stamp

Temporary I-551 stamp in foreign passport
DS-2019 exchange visitor (J-1) certificate
I-20 Non-immigrant student (F-1)

Student documents with Student Exchange and Visitor
Information System (SEVIS) number

Non-student documents with alien number or 1-94
number

Proof of Identity

Photo IDs issued by government agencies with the
applicants full name and date of birth are considered
primary documents. Simply show one from the list
below to prove your identity. All documents must be
verifiable.

Primary Identification Documents

Texas DL or photo ID within two years of expiration

Unexpired US passport book or passport card

US Citizenship Certificate or Certificate of Naturalization

with identifiable photo (N-550, N-560, N-561, N-570, or

N-578)

Unexpired US military photo ID card for active duty,

reserve, or retired personnel

Unexpired Department of Homeland Security (DHS) or

United States Citizenship and Immigration Services

(USCIS) photo ID. Examples include:

> US citizen Identification card (I-179 or I-197)

» Permanent Resident card (I-551)

» Machine-Readable Immigrant Visa (MRIV) with
temporary I-551 language and Alien Documentation,

Identification and Telecommunications System (ADIT)
stamp

Employment Authorization card (I-766)

US travel document (1-327 or I-571)

Advance parole document with photo (I-512 or I-512L)
1-94 stamped “Sec. 208 Asylee” with photo

I-94 stamped “Sec. 207 Refugee” with photo

Valid refugee travel letter with photo and stamped by
US Customs and Border Protection (CBP)

> American Indian card (I-872)
> Northern Mariana card (1-873)
e Foreign passport, visa™ (valid or expired), and 1-94
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* Citizens of the Republic of Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands,
Federated States of Micronesia, and certain Canadian non-immigrants
are not required to obtain a visa to enter the USA. The visa
requirement for these applicants will be waived.

If you cannot show a document from the Primary
Identification Documents list, you can present either
two documents from the Secondary Identification
Documents list below or one document from the
Secondary ldentification Documents list and two
documents from the Supporting Identification
Documents list below.

Secondary Identification Documents

e Original or certified copy of a birth certificate or birth
record issued by the appropriate State Bureau of Vital
Statistics or equivalent agency from a US state or local
government, a US territory, the District of Columbia, or
a Canadian province

e Original or certified copy of the US Department of State
Certificate of Birth Abroad issued to US citizens born
abroad (Form FS-240, DS-1350, or FS-545)

e Original or certified copy of the court order with name
and date of birth indicating an official change of name
and/or gender from a US state, a US territory, the
District of Columbia, or a Canadian province

Supporting Identification Documents

e Temporary receipt for a Texas DL or ID (actual receipt)

e Expired Texas DL or ID (expired more than two years—
actual card)

e DLor IDissued by another US state, US territory,
District of Columbia, or Canadian province (unexpired

or within two years of the expiration date—actual
card)’

ID card issued by government agency®

Pilot’s license (actual card)*

Concealed handgun license (actual card)’

Voter registration card (actual card)*

Professional license issued by Texas state agency

W-2 or 1099 form

School records (e.g. report cards, photo ID cards, etc.)"
Military records (e.g., Form DD-214)

Unexpired US military dependent ID card (actual card)
Veteran Health Identification card (VHIC—actual card)
Selective Service card (actual card)

Original or certified copy of a marriage certificate or
divorce decree (US jurisdiction or foreign jurisdiction; if
not in English, a certified translation must

accompany it)

Any insurance policy (valid continuously for the past
two years)

Current Texas motor vehicle registration or title (TRC
521.144)

Current Texas boat registration or title

Hospital-issued birth record®

Medicare or Medicaid card (actual card)
Immunization records’

Unexpired foreign passport

A valid Consular document issued by a state or
national government

Federal parole or release certificate

Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) parole or
mandatory release certificate

Texas inmate ID card or similar form of ID issued by
TDCJ

Federal inmate ID card

Tribal membership card from a federally recognized
tribe

Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood (CDIB)

Social Security card (actual card)

"Document must be issued by an institution, entity or government
agency from a US state, a US territory, the District of Columbia, or
a Canadian province.

Name Change Documents

Any documents you bring to prove your identity must show
the same name and date of birth. If not, you must present
supporting documents—such as a marriage certificate,
divorce decree, or court-ordered name change—to confirm
a name change, inconsistent information, or incomplete
names and/or dates of birth.



